Former
Galeria Kaufhof
Worms

ATTAINMENTS

  • General planning
  • Project development

ADDITION OF A NEW STOREY: SUBSEQUENT USE OF THE FORMER GALERIA KAUFHOF

Lasting revitalization of Worms city center

When Galeria Kaufhof moves out of downtown Worms in 2020, a new era will begin for this important location. Together with representatives of the Worms Economic Development Agency, the Chamber of Industry and Commerce for Rheinhessen and the city marketing department, we have been working on a viable solution for the subsequent use of the building in order to maintain its positive appeal for the entire city center of Worms.

Vom Kaufhaus zum Mixed Use Standort

After numerous design rounds with the city representatives and citizens of Worms, we developed a sustainable utilization concept. The result: part of the building is now occupied by the city of Worms for its office space. For the remaining space, we are aiming for a mix of residential, commercial, retail and cultural uses. Single-store retailers on the first floor are to provide a fresh urban bustle at the location, and an addition to the building will provide supplementary residential offerings. Until then, the building will be managed by ehret+klein Capital Markets.

After 140 years of department store, we are starting a new chapter

The approximately 140-year history of the Worms department store resembles a roller coaster ride through German history: between luxury goods and the economic miracle, Jewish expropriation and bombing in 1945, the tenacious reconstruction as well as the reopening of the building in 1952 and the final end of the department store era triggered by the Corona Pandemic in 2019. With the rededication of the building to a mix of residential and commercial, we are starting a new chapter in the downtown development of Worms and hope that this story will also last a long time.

Facts & Figures

  • Project status

    In planning

  • Location

    Worms
  • Usage

    Mixed use
  • Expanse (approximate GFA)

    11.049 m²
  • Approximate plot area

    2.445 m²
  • Completion

    2023
  • Site

    GALLERY

    Resembling properties

    Landau, 2024, Mixed use

    City Gateway - Stadttor Landau

    more

    Germering, 2020, Commercial, Offices, Daycare

    Kleiner Stachus Germering

    more

    Worms, Mixed use, Daycare

    Licht-Luftbad-quarter Worms

    more

Ehemaliger
Galeria Kaufhof
Worms

LEISTUNGEN

  • Generalplanung
  • Projektentwicklung

Aufstockung: NACHNUTZUNG DES ehemaligeR GALERIA KAUFHOFS

Nachhaltige Belebung der Wormser Innenstadt

Mit dem Auszug von Galeria Kaufhof im Jahr 2020 aus der Wormser Innenstadt beginnt für diese wichtige Lage eine neue Ära. Gemeinsam mit Vertretern der Wormser Wirtschaftsförderung, der IHK für Rheinhessen sowie dem Stadtmarketing haben wir an einer tragfähigen Lösung für die Nachnutzung des Gebäudes gearbeitet, um dessen positive Strahlkraft für die gesamte Wormser Innenstadt zu erhalten.

Vom Kaufhaus zum Mixed Use Standort

Nach zahlreichen Entwurfsrunden mit den Stadtvertretern und Bürgern der Stadt Worms haben wir ein nachhaltiges Nutzungskonzept entwickelt. Das Ergebnis: ein Teil des Gebäudes wird nun durch die Stadt Worms für deren Büroräumlichkeiten bezogen.  Für die restlichen Flächen streben wir einen Mix aus Wohnen, Gewerbe, Einzelhandel und Kultur an. Dabei sollen Einzalhändler im Erdgeschoss für frischen Stadtrubel am Standort dienen und eine Aufstockung für ergänzendes Wohnangebot sorgen. Bis dahin wird das Gebäude durch die ehret+klein Capital Markets verwaltet.

Nach 140 Jahren Kaufhaus schlagen wir ein neues Kapitel auf

Die rund 140-jährige Geschichte des Wormser Kaufhauses gleicht einer Achterbahnfahrt durch die deutsche Geschichte: zwischen Luxusgütern und Wirtschaftswunder, jüdischer Enteignung und Bombenangriffen 1945, dem zähen Wiederaufbau sowie der Neueröffnung des Gebäudes im Jahr 1952 und dem abschließenden Ende der Kaufhaus Ära, ausgelöst durch die Corona Pandemie 2019. Mit der Umwidmung des Gebäudes zu einem Mix aus Wohnen und Gewerbe schlagen wir ein neues Kapitel in der Innenstadtentwicklung von Worms auf und hoffen, dass auch diese Geschichte lange währt. 

Fakten & Kennzahlen

  • Projektstatus

    In Planung

  • Standort

    Worms
  • Nutzung

    Nutzungsmix
  • Fläche (circa BGF)

    11.049 m²
  • Grundstücksfläche (circa)

    2.445 m²
  • Jahr

    2023
  • Lage

    GALERIE

    Ähnliche Objekte

    Landau, 2024, Nutzungsmix

    Stadttor Landau

    mehr

    Germering, 2020, Gewerbe, Büro, Kita

    Kleiner Stachus Germering

    mehr

    Worms, Nutzungsmix, Kita

    Licht-Luftbad-Quartier Worms

    mehr