The Maschinenhaus
Schwabing

ATTAINMENTS

  • Project development
  • Infrastructure concept
  • Refurbishment of existing structures
  • Owner representation
  • Renting

CREATIVE temporary USE BY THE ARTISTS' COLLECTIVE BROKE.TODAY

Historic preservation meets art

Then an innovation, today an industrial monument. The engine house, which was built around 100 years ago at the beginning of the 20th century and is now a listed building, represents an important milestone in the development of Munich's Schwabing district. As Munich's first combined heat and power plant, it primarily served to supply heat to Schwabing Hospital. Since its sale in 2018, the boilers have been at a standstill.  In order to fill this historic site with new life until it is rededicated as a unique office location, we are making the Maschinenhaus available to the artists' collective broke.today within the framework of a creative interim use.

A house inside of a house

Following the interim use, the building will be carefully gutted and refurbished. New floor ceilings will then be installed with a table-like support structure, enabling the building to be used as an open-plan and loft office - a house within a house, so to speak. A gastronomic offering is planned to cater to future users and the neighborhood.

Would you like to take a look at the historic interior?
Then explore the Maschinenhaus in our
digital tour!

Art and culture with broke.today

broke.today is a Munich-based collective of street artists, designers, musicians, architects, craftsmen and creative professionals. They are reactivating the Maschinenhaus and transforming it into a temporary meeting place for art, culture, crafts, technology, and sports. ehret+klein is making the building available free of charge until probably mid-2022 and is providing financial support for the interim use project.

From August 2021, broke.today will host regular exhibitions and vernissages with local and international artists. Workshops for street art, sports programs for young and old as well as open workshops and creative workplaces are also planned! 

Welcome dear neighbors!

Not only the structural aspects of the Maschinenhaus represent a special feature. The exposed location in the middle of a young residential area as well as the neighboring Schwabing clinic grounds also makes the Maschinenhaus stand out in its form of use. This makes it all the more important for us to involve the neighborhood at an early stage. 

No sooner said than done. On July 15, 2021, together with broke.today, we presented the current interim use as well as the future use of the building and were available to answer questions about the Maschinenhaus. The rededication of the empty monolith to a colorful and lively space for art and culture met with great approval and lively interest among the citizens. 

Facts & Figures

  • Project status

    In planning

  • Location

    Munich
  • Usage

    Temporary use
  • Expanse (approximate GFA)

    3.860 m²
  • Approximate plot area

    3.150 m²
  • Sales contact

    Site

    Resembling properties

    Munich, 2023, Commercial, Offices

    Bayerstreet Munich

    more

    Munich, 2019, Offices, Retail

    Fürstenrieder Street Munich

    more

Das Maschinenhaus
Schwabing

LEISTUNGEN

  • Projektentwicklung
  • Infrastrukturkonzepte
  • Bestandssanierung
  • Bauherrenvertretung
  • Vermietung

KREATIVE ZWISCHENNUTZUNG DRUCH DAS KÜNSTLERKOLLEKTIV BROKE.TODAY

Denkmalschutz trifft auf Kunst

Damals Innovation, heute Industriedenkmal. Das Maschinenhaus, welches vor rund 100 Jahren zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts errichtet wurde und heute unter Denkmalschutz steht, bildet einen bedeutenden Meilenstein in der Entwicklung des Münchner Stadtteils Schwabing. Als erstes Heizkraftwerk Münchens diente es in erster Linie der Wärmeversorgung des Schwabinger Krankenhauses. Seit der Veräußerung im Jahr 2018 stehen die Kessel still.  Um diesen historischen Ort bis zur Umwidmung in einen einzigartigen Bürostandort mit neuem Leben zu füllen, stellen wir das Maschinenhaus im Rahmen einer kreativen Zwischennutzung dem Künstlerkollektiv broke.today zur Verfügung.

 

Ein Haus im Haus

Im Anschluss der Zwischennutzung wird das Gebäude behutsam entkernt und saniert. Mit einer tischartigen Tragstruktur werden anschließend neue Geschossdecken eingebracht, die eine Nutzung des Gebäudes als Großraum- und Loft-Büro ermöglichen - sozusagen ein Haus im Haus. Für die Versorgung der zukünftigen Nutzer und der Nachbarschaft ist ein gastronomisches Angebot eingeplant.

Sie möchten einen Blick in das historische Innere werfen?
Dann erkunden Sie das Maschinenhaus in unserem digitalen Rundgang!

Kunst und Kultur mit broke.today

broke.today ist ein Münchner Kollektiv aus Street-Art-Künstlern, Designern, Musikern, Architekten, Handwerkern und Kreativschaffenden. Diese reaktivieren das Maschinenhaus und verwandeln es zu einer temporären Begegnungsstätte für Kunst, Kultur, Handwerk, Technik und Sport. ehret+klein stellt das Gebäude bis vorraussichtlich Mitte 2022 kostenfrei zur Verfügung und unterstützt das Zwischennutzungsprojekt finanziell.

Ab August 2021 veranstaltet broke.today regelmäßige Ausstellungen und Vernissagen mit lokalen und internationalen Künstlerinnen und Künstlern. Auch Workshops für Streetart, Sportprogramme für Jung und Alt sowie offene Werkstätte und Kreativarbeitsplätze sind geplant! 

Willkommen liebe Nachbarn!

Nicht nur die baulichen Aspekte des Maschinenhauses stellen eine Besonderheit dar. Auch die exponierte Lage inmitten eines jungen Wohngebietes sowie dem benachbarten Schwabinger Klinikgeländes lässt das Maschinenhaus in dessen Nutzungsform herausstechen. Umso wichtiger ist für uns die frühzeitige Einbindung der Nachbarschaft. 

Gesagt, getan. Am 15.07.2021 stellten wir zusammen mit broke.today die aktuelle Zwischennutzung sowie die künftige Nutzung des Gebäudes vor und standen mit Rede und Antwort für Fragen rund um das Maschinenhaus zur Verfügung. Die Umwidmung vom leerstehenden Monolith zu einem bunten und lebendigen Raum für Kunst und Kultur fand großen Anklang und reges Interesse bei den Bürgern. 

Fakten & Kennzahlen

  • Projektstatus

    In Planung

  • Standort

    München
  • Nutzung

    Zwischennutzung
  • Fläche (circa BGF)

    3.860 m²
  • Grundstücksfläche (circa)

    3.150 m²
  • Vertriebskontakt

    Lage

    Ähnliche Objekte

    München, 2023, Gewerbe, Büro

    Bayerstraße München

    mehr

    München, 2019, Büro, Einzelhandel

    Fürstenrieder Straße München

    mehr