Fürstenrieder Straße 21
Munich

ATTAINMENTS

  • Owner representation
  • General planning
  • Project development
  • Renting

Redevelopment: the former Ludwig Beck department store in Munich-Laim

A prestigious property once more

We are redeveloping the former Ludwig Beck department store in Munich's Laim district, which has been standing empty since 1991, in close consultation with politicians and residents. In the past, numerous plans for redeveloping the property failed and as a result the building at Fürstenrieder Strasse 21, with its striking brick facade, has been falling into ruin.

By involving the district committee and city council as well as local residents, we have now developed a shared vision for this central site in the district. This transparent process has proved successful. We began comprehensive refurbishment of the building in 2017, before converting the empty commercial premises into a modern office and business complex.

This visually closes the gap to the neighboring buildings. A supermarket with a restaurant will be located on the ground and first floors. The spacious office units, with their flexible floor plans and light-industrial-style architecture with supporting steel columns, on the remaining floors have already been leased. The location provides easy access to public transport and offers a large number of bicycle stands. A particular highlight is the roof terraces for employees.

„In a growing city, where a housing shortage and lack of local amenities on the one hand and densification on the other are key issues for citizens, that's all you can ask for from planners and developers.“

Johannes Beetz, chief editor of "Wochenspiegel" and resident

Urban development with character

What once was a a ruin is being transformed into a building that will in the future have a positive impact on Laim. "This is how you inspire people and work with them to shape an urban development," says Johannes Beetz, Wochenspiegel editor-in-chief and a resident. "In a growing city, where a housing shortage and lack of local amenities on the one hand and densification on the other are key issues for its citizens, that’s all you can ask for from planners and developers."

Facts & Figures

  • Location

    München
  • Usage

    Offices
    Retail
  • Expanse (approximate GFA)

    8.000m²
  • Approximate plot area

    2.262m²
  • Year

    2019
  • Site

    Resembling properties

    Germering, 2020, Commerce, Social living

    Kleiner Stachus Germering

    more

    München, 2020, Retail, Living

    Renatastraße Munich

    more

    Starnberg, 2019, Offices, Retail

    Gautinger Straße Starnberg

    more

Fürstenrieder Straße 21
München

LEISTUNGEN

  • Bauherrenvertretung
  • Generalplanung
  • Projektentwicklung
  • Vermietung

Umbau: ehemaliges Kaufhaus Beck in München-Laim

Wieder eine gute Adresse

In enger Absprache mit Politik und Anwohnern bauen wir wir das ehemalige Kaufhaus der Firma Ludwig Beck im Münchner Viertel Laim um, das seit 1991 leer steht. In der Vergangenheit sind viele Umbaupläne gescheitert, während das Gebäude an der Fürstenrieder Straße 21 mit seiner markanten Klinkerfassade zunehmend verfallen ist.

Unter Einbeziehung von Bezirksausschuss und Stadtrat sowie im Gespräch mit den Anwohnern haben wir nun eine gemeinsame Vision für den zentralen Standort im Viertel entwickelt. Dieser transparente Prozess zahlt sich aus. 2017 haben wir mit der umfassenden Bestandssanierung des Gebäudes begonnen, bevor wir den Gewerbeleerstand zu einem modernen Büro- und Gewerbekomplex umbauen.

Optisch werden so die Baulücken zu den Nachbargebäuden geschlossen. Im Erd- sowie dem ersten Obergeschoss siedelt sich ein Supermarkt mit Gastronomie-Angebot an. Die flexiblen und großzügigen Büroeinheiten im „Light Industrial Style“ mit tragenden Stahlsäulen in den darüber liegenden Geschossen sind vermietet. Der Standort ist perfekt an den öffentlichen Nahverkehr angebunden und bietet umfangreiche Fahrradstellplätze. Ein besonderes Highlight sind die Dachterrassen für die Mitarbeiter.

„In einer wachsenden Stadt, in der auf der einen Seite Wohnungsmangel und fehlende Nahversorgung sowie auf der anderen Seite Nachverdichtung die zentralen Bürgerthemen sind, kann man sich von Planern und Bauträgern nicht mehr wünschen.“

Johannes Beetz, Wochenspiegel-Chefredakteur und Anwohner

Quartiersentwicklung mit Charakter

Aus der einstigen Ruine wird ein Gebäude, das Laim in Zukunft positiv prägen wird. „So nimmt man Menschen mit und prägt mit ihnen ein Quartier“, sagt Johannes Beetz, Wochenspiegel-Chefredakteur und Anwohner. „In einer wachsenden Stadt, in der auf der einen Seite Wohnungsmangel und fehlende Nahversorgung sowie auf der anderen Seite Nachverdichtung die zentralen Bürgerthemen sind, kann man sich von Planern und Bauträgern nicht mehr wünschen.“

Fakten & Kennzahlen

  • Standort

    München
  • Nutzung

    Büro
    Einzelhandel
  • Fläche (circa BGF)

    8.000m²
  • Grundstücksfläche (circa)

    2.262m²
  • Jahr

    2019
  • Lage

    Ähnliche Objekte

    Germering, 2019, Gewerbe, Soziale Einrichtungen

    Kleiner Stachus Germering

    mehr

    München, 2020, Einzelhandel, Wohnen

    Renatastraße München

    mehr

    Starnberg, 2019, Büro, Einzelhandel

    Gautinger Straße Starnberg

    mehr