Living
at Papierbach
Landsberg

ATTAINMENTS

  • Land-use planning
  • Owner representation
  • General planning
  • Project development
  • Project management
  • Infrastructure concept

URBAN DEVELOPMENT: NEW URBAN QUARTER IN LANDSBERG AM LECH

The Am Papierbach urban development

In Landsberg am Lech, we are currently breathing new life into a former industrial site where paper was once made, and where a plow factory was operated from 1891 to 2011. We are creating an entire new urban development in the immediate vicinity of one of Bavaria's most beautiful city centers. It will enable the two parts of the city, situated on opposite sides of the Lech River, to grow even closer together and further enhance the already high quality of life.

Would you like to take a virtual 360° tour? Then click here.

From a former industrial site to a place worth living

Apartments, offices, retail spaces, restaurants, cafes and bars, and space for childcare and cultural facilities will be built on the former production site's approximately 57,000 square meters. A total of 14 competitions have been launched in this context, including an urban planning ideas competition in 2015 and, since 2016, a number of architectural competitions for the individual lots in which leading international architecture firms have taken part.

 

"Here an exciting counterpart to the old town is being created. A role model for other cities, with an excellent integration of Landsberg's citizens into the development processes."

Bernd Schwarz, representative of the citizen group Urbanes Leben am Papierbach

Involvement of citizens and local authorities

A special concern of ours is the good and transparent cooperation with the city of Landsberg am Lech and its citizens, whom we involve in the entire project process. Thus, the citizens' group Urbanes Leben am Papierbach accompanies the project from the very beginning. 

Our Am Papierbach project on the west bank of the Lech River, with its symbolic bridge across the Lech, will enable the western part of the city and the eastern part, including the historical part of town, to grow together. The urban development will not only establish a link between the two parts of the city but also between tradition and modernity. Demolition work began in the middle of 2017. The Karl Schrem Building will remain intact and serve as a visible testament to the former plow factory, thus evoking the history of the site.

More information: ampapierbach-landsberg.de

1st place at the polis Award 2020

At the annual polis Awards, which is presented for particularly innovative and sustainable development concepts, the new urban quarter received first prize in the category "Urban land recycling" for its innovative planning and visionary mobility and sustainability concept in 2020. 

"The jury is thrilled by the groundbreaking creativity with which the project participants in the 29,000 inhabitant district town, in Bavaria, have transformed a historic industrial wasteland into a new melting pot of the inner city. It is not only the forward-looking architecture that is convincing here, but also the variety of possible uses with which the new quarter reaches a large part of the citizenry. The jury also honored the innovative and resource-saving energy concept, which was taken into account during the entire development process.

A new Lech bridge for Landsberg

The Lady-Herkomer-Steg not only connects two sides of the river bank, but also marks a decisive step towards the mobility turnaround and the urban vision of Landsberg 2035. In the future, the structure, subsidized with € 1.3 million by ehret+klein, will not only serve as a fast and car-free crossing of the Lech river, but will also create a direct connection between the old town of Landsberg and the urban life at Papierbach. A win-win for both sides! 

Facts & Figures

  • Project status

    In distribution

  • Location

    Landsberg am Lech
  • Usage

    Mixed use
  • Expanse (approximate GFA)

    88.000 m²
  • Approximate plot area

    57.000 m²
  • Completion

    2025
  • Sales contact

    Site

    Resembling properties

    Friedenstal-Bernau, 2024, Mixed use

    Forest quarter Friedenstal Bernau

    more

    Tutzing, 2024, Mixed use

    Business Area Tutzing

    more

    Worms, Mixed use, Daycare

    Licht-Luftbad-quarter Worms

    more

Urbanes Leben
am Papierbach
Landsberg

LEISTUNGEN

  • Bauleitplanung
  • Bauherrenvertretung
  • Generalplanung
  • Projektentwicklung
  • Projektmanagement
  • Infrastrukturkonzepte

QUARTIERSENTWICKLUNG: NEUES STADTVIERTEL IN LANDSBERG AM LECH

Urbanes Leben am Papierbach

In Landsberg am Lech erwecken wir derzeit eine historische Industriebrache zu neuem Leben. Einst wurde hier Papier geschöpft und von 1891 bis 2011 eine Pflugfabrik betrieben. Jetzt realisieren wir ein komplettes neues Stadtviertel in unmittelbarer Nähe und mit Blick auf eine der schönsten Innenstädte Bayerns. Die beiden Seiten der Lechstadt wachsen noch enger zusammen und die ohnehin hohe Lebensqualität steigt weiter.

Lust auf einen virtuellen 360° Rundgang? Dann klicken Sie hier.

Von der Industriebrache zum lebenswerten Stadtviertel

Auf rund 57.000 Quadratmetern des ehemaligen Produktionsgeländes entstehen Wohnungen, Büro-, Einzelhandels- und Gastronomieflächen, sowie Räume für Betreuungs- und Kulturangebote. Insgesamt sind dafür 14 Wettbewerbe ausgelobt: unter anderem 2015 ein städtebaulicher Ideenwettbewerb und seit 2016 mehrere baufeldbezogene Realisierungswettbewerbe, an denen namhafte internationale Architekturbüros teilnahmen.

„Hier entsteht ein aufregendes Gegenstück zur Altstadt. Vorbild für andere Städte, mit einer hervorragenden Einbindung der Landsberger Bürger in die Entwicklungsprozesse."

Bernd Schwarz, Sprecher der Bürgergruppe Urbanes Leben am Papierbach

Einbindung der Bürger und Kommune

Ein besonderes Anliegen ist uns die gute und transparente Zusammenarbeit mit der Stadt Landsberg am Lech und ihren Bürgern, die wir im gesamten Projektverlauf einbeziehen. So begleitet die Bürgergruppe Urbanes Leben am Papierbach das Projekt von Anfang an. 

Unser Projekt „Am Papierbach“ westlich des Lechs mit seinem symbolhaften Lechsteg lässt die West- und Ostseite mit ihrer Altstadt zusammenwachsen. Über das Areal verbinden wir nicht nur die Stadtseiten, sondern auch Tradition und Moderne: Mitte 2017 haben die Abbrucharbeiten begonnen.

Mehr Informationen:
ampapierbach-landsberg.de

1. Platz beim polis Award 2020

Im Rahmen des jährlich verliehenen polis Awards, der für besonders innovative und nachhaltige Entwicklungskonzepte verliehen wird, erhielt das neue Stadtquartier für seine innovative Planung und das visionäre Mobilitäts- sowie Nachhaltigkeitskonzept im Jahr 2020 den ersten Preis in der Kategorie "Urbanes Flächenrecycling". 

„Die Jury ist begeistert davon, mit welch wegweisender Kreativität die Projektbeteiligten in der 29.000 Einwohnerkreisstadt, in Bayern, eine historische Industriebrache in einen neuen Schmelztiegel der Innenstadt umgewandelt haben. Hier überzeugt nicht nur die zukunftsträchtige Architektur, sondern auch die Vielfalt an Nutzungsmöglichkeiten, mit dem das neue Quartier einen großen Teil der Bürgerschaft erreicht. Die Jury ehrt darüber hinaus auch das innovative und ressourcenschonende Energiekonzept, unter dessen Berücksichtigung die gesamte Entwicklung stattfand.“

 

Ein neuer Lechsteg für Landsberg

Der Lady-Herkomer-Steg verbindet nicht nur zwei Uferseiten miteinander, sondern markiert auch einen entscheidenden Schritt in Richtung Mobilitätswende und der Stadtvision von Landsberg 2035. Das mit 1,3 Mio. € von ehret+klein subventionierte Bauwerk dient künftig nicht nur der schnellen und autofreien Überquerung des Lechs, sondern schafft auch eine direkte Verbindung zwischen der Altstadt Landsbergs und dem Urbanen Leben am Papierbach. Ein Gewinn für beide Seiten!

Fakten & Kennzahlen

  • Projektstatus

    In Vertrieb

  • Standort

    Landsberg am Lech
  • Nutzung

    Nutzungsmix
  • Fläche (circa BGF)

    88.000 m²
  • Grundstücksfläche (circa)

    57.000 m²
  • Jahr

    2025
  • Vertriebskontakt

    Lage

    Ähnliche Objekte

    Friedenstal-Bernau, 2024, Nutzungsmix

    Waldquartier Friedenstal Bernau

    mehr

    Tutzing, 2024, Nutzungsmix

    Business Area Tutzing

    mehr

    Worms, Nutzungsmix, Kita

    Licht-Luftbad-Quartier Worms

    mehr